New requirement for travelers from these countries entering Europe on a passport

Photo of author

By parm maan

from 2025 The rules for traveling to Europe will change for citizens of more than sixty visa-free countries. Among them are Colombia, Mexico, USA, Canada, Brazil, Japan. But what is this new requirement about and when is it necessary to process it?

European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS, for English acronyms), won't start to take effect until mid-2025, so if you're planning a trip this year or early next year, you'll be able to go with just your passport.

Once the ETIAS authorization is valid, it will be processed online either the traveler himself or someone he trusts. However, their page for now only provides information about it and does not accept requests. European authorities even warn that some portals have been created that are not official and provide wrong information and even deceive travelers.

It is anticipated that once this new permit is in effect Surveys only take a few minutes to complete and confirmation or rejection is received after a few minutes.

They appreciate it About 97 percent of applications will be accepted automatically, Only in exceptional cases the process may take several hours or days and additional information will be requested from the applicant.

ETIAS will cost €7 and will be valid for three years. Therefore, it will allow multiple entries and exits in countries that require this new document.

The European authorities emphasized that This permit is not equivalent to a visa because it does not require an appointment or send information that justifies the trip. They also clarified that the rule that allows them to stay in the European territory for up to 90 days will not be changed, that is, it does not give them the right to study or work.

Colombians will have to process ETIAS.


What is ETIAS, the new entry requirement for Europe?

European authorities have shared that the reason behind the implementation of ETIAS maintain a high level of security to ensure that travelers crossing borders do so without problems maintaining the defense of nations.

They explained that currently travelers are not screened until they are already at a point of entry into Europe, so if they are then found to pose a security, public health or migration risk, they may face difficulties even though they are without people. bad intentions. But An initial assessment with ETIAS will be carried out.

list of Latin American and Caribbean countries to develop ETIAS from 2025 es:

  • Old and bearded
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Saviour
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Leave a Comment